(World of Outlaws photo)

Well to say the 2020 season was anything that people expected at the beginning of the year would be far from correct. 86 races were planned for 2020 starting at the exciting Volusia Speedway Park in Florida in the first week of February. The 3 day event seems to set a tone for every season to see who’s ready to compete. 3 championship contenders stepped up to the plate as Donny Schatz won the Thursday portion, Brad Sweet winning Friday and Logan Schuchart taking Saturdays 30 lap feature. Teams regrouped for about a month then headed down to Cotton Bowl Speedway in Paige Texas. Some teams already there, some on their way when the news struck. COVID-19 has arrived and forced the cancellation of all future races for the foreseeable future. The premier touring series took about 2 months off during the pandemic stretching from March 13th to May 8th. A lot of drivers turning to IRacing to keep their minds sharp and stay motivated.

Word came out that the Sprintcar Capitol of the World Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville Iowa would host the Greatest Show on Dirt for a Friday night “Return to Racing” event. Of coarse things were a bit different, there were no fans allowed in, teams had to be socially distanced, masks were required for everybody, and temperatures were checked. Based on a invite only basis 48 teams entered the famous 1/2 mile. Jason Johnson Racing and their driver David Gravel showed they didn’t miss a step battling with Australian driver Ian Madsen but ultimately pulling out the $10,000 top prize. 2 weeks later the outlaws made a stop in Missouri for 4 races. 2 at I-55 Raceway and 2 at Lake Ozark Speedway. Sweet, Schuchart, and Schatz all picking up another win with Kyle Larson spoiling the party with an I-55’s saturday night win. One stop in Wisconsin at Beaver Dam Raceway, Brad Sweet came out on top then it was back Knoxville for 2 nights. By now fans would start to return to the tracks depending on the state and area. Larson picked up both nights at Knoxville and it was on to Indiana for 2 nights.

The outlaws agreed to a deal with CBS Sports to have the saturday night feature at Tri-State Speedway broadcasted on live TV. Carson Macedo picked up the live tv win holding off Brad Sweet in the final corner. Now on to late June early July things are picking up again for the Greatest Show on Dirt. There are fans back in the stands and racing consistently. The outlaws did a swing up north running in Minnesota and Wisconsin including the Jackson Nationals where Logan Schuchart came out victorious. Parker Price-Miller picked up his only win of the season at 34 Raceway in Iowa, Brad Sweet picked up 2 more wins winning 2 of 3 races at Cedar Lake Speedway in Wisconsin and Schuchart winning at Terre Haute Auction Track in Indiana. A Pennsylvania swing was on tap for 4 nights with the Outlaws vs Possee. Outlaws took 3 of 4 races Schatz picked up the Don Martin Memorial at Lernerville, Sheldon Haudenschild captured the Gettysburg Clash at Lincoln, All Star regular Shane Stewart spoiled the run taking night 1 of the Summer Nationals at Wiliams Grove Speedway and David Gravel taking home big night 2 check worth $20,000.

Iornman 55 weekend back in Missouri, defending Iornman 55 champion Sheldon Haudenschild showed he didn’t forget how to get around the bullring winning friday night’s event and Kyle Larson took home the saturday night 55 lap feature, starting what many would say was the larson streak. The Knoxville Nationals were up next but with local restrictions and concerns it was replaced with The One and Only and the Capitani Classic. Only 7,000 people were allowed in the facility for the 3 day events. Kyle Larson won 2 out the 3 nights including the saturday night portion worth $50,000. The outlaws went into Donny Schatz’s turf for 2 races in North Dakota, but in his first ever trip to the Dakota’s winning both nights Kyle Larson dominated and what many would say was the finish of the year at River Cities Speedway getting around Logan Shcuchart coming off turn 4 to the finish line.

Starting off September the Outlaws returned to the legendary Husets Speedway for 2 night mega race. Sheldon Haudenschild picked up night 1 and what is starting to come as no shock Kyle Larson snatched saturday nights $20,000 to win paycheck. The farthest west the outlaws reached this year was Dodge City Raceway Park in SouthEast Kansas on September 11th and 12th. On 9/11 Jacob Allen brought a warm feeling to everyone’s hearts on a very dark day in american history. Allen and his Shark Racing 1A finally found victory lane after 7 long years on the road with the outlaws. Sheldon Haudenschild would go on to win the saturday portion. After announcing his step back from full time racing and his departure from Roth Motorsports Daryn Pittman picked up a hometown win at Lawton Speedway in Lawton Oklahoma. Scuhchart and Schatz would pick up wins at Devils Bowl Speedway and Plymoth Speedway respectively. Keeping on track with hometown wins Sheldon Haudenschild picked up an emotional victory at his home track of Wayne County Speedway in Orrville Ohio the first time they have been there since the 1980s. The final Pennsylvania Possee vs The Outlaws swing was set David Gravel picked up two wins as well as Kyle Larson picking up 2 wins at Port Royal Speedway and Donny Schatz winning the National Open the highest paying sprintcar race of 2020 at Williams Grove for $75,000.

A last central swing in Lakeside Speedway, Lake Ozark Speedway and Kokomo Speedway where Shane Stewart, James McFadden, and Sheldon Haudenschild all picking up wins, set the stage for the World Finals which do to regulations was named “The Last Call” 2 nights at The Dirt Track at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Going into the Night #1 defending series champion Brad Sweet held a 46 point lead over Logan Schuchart. All sweet had to do was finish one spot ahead of Schuchart in the feature to clinch his second title. 30 feature laps later Schuchart came from 16th to 6th but it just wasnt enough as Sweet finished 4th. Sweet and his Kasey Kahne Racing #49 won their second title in a row. The final night of racing at a very dusty Charlotte track. Logan Schuchart ended up victorious to close out 2020 on a high note.

Top 5 in Points were 1. Brad Sweet, 2. Logan Schuchart, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Sheldon Haudenschild, 5. Carson Macedo